Travel Backpack

Well done! It is your time to go exploring this wonderful and fragile world and its people. But do you have any idea about how to pack your travel backpack?

Travel Backpack: What size?

Reducing your life to a single travel backpack is not easy, even more if you travel for a long time in an expensive and wealthy country. Nevertheless traveling is nothing about taking all your life with you! Here are several questions you should ask you to choose the right size for your travel backpack:

  • First of all, if you plan travelling on a Working Holiday Visa, do you want to work/live in society from the start?
  • Secondly, how do you want to travel between points A to B?
  • Last but not least, do you have some specific activities in mind you would like to do abroad and what are the consequences on your equipment (camping, …) ?

backpack_Bach-Shield-38These three questions should help you to have a better understanding about what should take place in your backpack. However you should not exceed a 60L size, which is already huge. For instance, I only travel with a backpack between 30L and 40L MAXIMUM that never exceeds 15kg with my water.

If you plan on working abroad, you will stay somewhere for some time, so you can take more clothes that you won’t keep after. Don’t be seduced buying more things (like clothes) because you have a place to stay!

If you want to travel with other people or hitchhike, it is also easier to give you a lift when you travel with a light backpack. Moreover you won’t catch as much attention with a small travel backpack, therefore it automatically makes you safer as you won’t catch the interest of thieves!

Concerning road trip and camping, you should at least carry a light tent (around 1kg) as well as a silk sheet (bed bugs in several backpackers hostel). I only use these two about forty nights in 2 years time in Australia, however I’m glad I did when it rained or because of insects and bugs.

myutilitybagWhen I do not plan camping, I only take a well designed 35L rucksack: The Only One. With this travel backpack, I travelled for 6 months (New Zealand, Tasmania, Thailand, Lao and Cambodia). An upgrade of Mary Poppins’ bag somehow!

As a general statement, everything you don’t use often will be lost soon or later, so why taking it?

One or two travel backpacks?

This is a goodfoldable-backpack_tatonka-18 question to ask you because there are many advantages taking two travel backpacks. Indeed, When you go somewhere for several weeks, month or years, it is not handy carrying a big backpack. With two travel backpacks you can:

  • Carry all your belongings in the MAIN backpack
  • Carry what you need for the day in a small FOLDABLE backpack

MY main travel backpack is a BACH Shield 38L and my foldable backpack is a Takonka Superlight 18L light and reliable.

This combination helps me a lot at the airport to separate hand luggage and checked luggage. You transfer from your main backpack to the foldable backpack what you need during your flight (documents, headphones, digital accessories, food and beverage, …).
Then, you transfer everything back to your main travel backpack after landing.

This tiny foldable backpack can also be carried on your chest. I did it several times in Peru when I was doing a trek in self-sufficient conditions to carry my food and smartphone.

This foldable backpack is also a handy way to go shopping or to go to the beach with your towel and swimwear! Precisely, let’s speak about what kind of cloths you should put inside your backpack !

Clothing

sacadosvoyage_clothing

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sac à dos de voyage

Ahhh enfin ! Vous partez en voyage vers l’inconnu et vous êtes tout excité à cette idée ! Mais savez-vous comment préparer votre sac à dos de voyage?

Le sac à dos de voyage: Quel Volume ?

Réduire sa vie à un sac à dos de voyage n’est pas chose aisée, d’autant plus si vous partez longtemps dans un pays où le coût de la vie est élevé. Néanmoins lorsque vous voyager le but n’est pas d’emmener toute votre vie ! Voici un certain nombre de questions à vous poser pour déterminer la taille de votre sac à dos de voyage :

  • Premièrement, si vous partez avec un Visa Vacances Travail à l’étranger, est-ce que vous souhaitez travailler/vivre en société dès le début de votre voyage ou non?
  • Deuxièmement, comment souhaitez vous vous déplacer en voyage ?
  • Enfin, avez vous prévu de réaliser des activités spécifiques sur le long terme et avec quelles conséquences sur votre équipement (camping ?,… )

sacados_Bach-Shield-38Ces trois questions devraient vous permettre de mieux cerner quoi mettre dans votre sac à dos de voyage. Toutefois, essayez de ne pas dépasser un volume de 60 Litres qui représente déjà un volume énorme !

Pour vous donner une idée, je ne voyage qu’avec des sacs à dos de voyage compris entre 30 et 40L MAXIMUM pour un poids inférieur à 15kg avec mon eau. Si Vous avez décidé de travailler à l’étranger, vous resterez fixe un certain temps et vous pouvez prendre un peu plus d’affaires que vous ne garderez pas. Ne soyez pas tenté de vous encombrer avec de nouvelles choses comme un trop grand nombre d’habits.

Si vous souhaiter voyager avec d’autres personnes ou bien en auto-stop, il sera également plus facile de vous prendre si vous avez peu de chose avec vous, tout en limitant la convoitise !

Concernant les road trip et le camping, prenez au minimum une tente 1 personne autour de 1kg et un drap de soie ou duvet léger (puces de lit dans certaines auberges). Pendant 2 ans en Australie, je ne m’en suis servi qu’une quarantaine de nuits mais j’étais content de les avoir lorsqu’il pleuvait ou bien à cause des insectes.

myutilitybagLorsque je ne prévois pas de camper, je me contente seulement d’un sac à dos de voyage de 35L bien pensé: le Only One. Avec ce dernier, j’ai voyagé pendant 6 mois (Nouvelle-Zélande, Tasmanie, Thaïlande, Laos et Cambodge). Une version améliorée du sac de Marie Poppin’s en quelque sorte!

En règle générale, tout ce que vous n’utiliserez pas finira par être perdu tôt ou tard, alors pourquoi s’en encombrer ?

Un ou deux sacs de voyage ?

sacados_tatonka-18-pliableCette question à le mérite d’être posée car la réponse comporte un grand nombre d’avantages. En effet, il peut être judicieux de disposer de DEUX SAC A DOS lorsque vous partez pour une longue période:

  • Un sac à dos PRINCIPAL qui contient toute votre vie
  • un petit sac à dos PLIABLE pour être mobile en journée

Mon sac à dos principal est ainsi un BACH Shield 38L avec en plus un sac à dos solide et pliable comme le Takonka Superlight 18L.

Ce combo de deux sacs à dos de voyage facilite également la séparation entre bagage soute et bagage main à l’aéroport.

Vous transférez dans le sac à dos pliable les éléments que vous souhaitez garder auprès de vous le temps du transport (papier, argent, téléphone, écouteur, tablette/liseuse, nourriture, eau, …) avant de tout transférer de nouveau dans votre sac à dos de voyage une fois arrivé.

Ce petit sac à dos pliable peu également se porter sur le torse. C’est ce que je faisais pour faire de la randonnée en autonomie complète au Pérou.

C’est également une solution pratique pour aller faire vos courses ou bien pour prendre votre serviette et maillot de bain pour la plage! Justement, si nous parlions désormais des vêtements à mettre dans votre sac à dos de voyage?

Vêtements

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *