Walsh’s Pyramid: Damn it’s so steep!

walshs-pyramid_gordonvale_cairns-area_queensland_australia_worldtour-outdoorexperience_julien-diot

That’s a kind of hike you are happy to do only one time. Piet can tell you because for him, it was the second time!  Although i got use to hike a lot in the Basque Country, this one is not for youngsters!

Sunday afternoon, we took the bus 150E towards Gordonvale. 50 minutes later, we were facing the mountain: Walsh’s Pyramid, the highest freestanding pyramid in the world with 922 meters height!

Inside the bus, when we speak about our project to see the sunset right at the top of the Whalsh’s Pyramid, a man tells us we are crazy: » you will come back at night, « it is dangerous », or « you need 5 hours, at least »… blablabla, we are young and crazy people, everything will be all right.

.

walshs-pyramid-climbing_cairns-area-queensland-australia-worldtour-outdoorexperienceWhen we are facing the trail, the melody has changed: it rises steeply up to the top! After each footstep forward, we ascend between 20 and 50 cm. Admittedly the landscape is wonderful, but it’s hard to keep your head up to enjoy it. One hour later, a landmark indicates that we did half way. We just wanted to cry. ONLY HALF WAY!!!! Anyway we don’t have any other choice: we want to see the Sunset so we have to keep going.

Hopefully this landmark wasn’t really precise because we reached the top 40 minutes later. Kaleigh greets the mountain by a nice “fuck you the mountain, I won it! ”. For sure she is happy that we have reached the peak!

Because the landscape is amazing, we have to take “a few” pictures. When the sun started to diffuse its best colours, we took an ultimate shot, finished our beers, packed all our stuff and start to go down the trail… by running and yelling like monkeys! That was really funny. Therefore after 20 minutes, our legs were burning. We walk fast because we have to be quick to don’t miss the bus! I equip my two friends with a spot light and I walk ahead in the dark. Going down the mountain was faster but harder than going up. My legs are shaking. I have to stay focused on my way.

Once we are at the bottom of the Walsh’s Pyramid, we have just 20 minutes to catch the bus! That’s exactly the time we need; we can’t dawdle! One, two, one, two, the rhythm is intense but if we miss the bus, we will have to wait one more hour before the next one.

walshs-pyramid_gordonvale_cairns-area_sunset_worldtour-outdoorexperience

Like Cape Tribulation when we brought the car back, we had a perfect timing. We arrived at the bus stop…with the bus. We are eased. It took us 1h47 to climb the Walsh’s Pyramid and 1h17 to go down. Back in Cairns, Piet and I went to the Pier Bar and Grill to have a $5 pizza while Kaleigh went to Mc Donald’s to order a Coca-Cola before to work on her Ipad at the hostel.

.

WTOE: Walsh's Pyramid (Gordonvale_Cairns-area_Queensland_Australia)

.picto_photo_brown

.

The craziest thing about the Walsh’s Pyramid is a race which takes place the second weekend of August every year: a 12 km loop from Gordonvale to the peak and return. The day before the trip when I asked to a bus driver the road to Gordonvale, he told to Peit and I he did it in 1h47 to finish 22nd for 80 competitors. Respect.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Walsh’s Pyramid: Bon sang ça grimpe!

walshs-pyramid_gordonvale_cairns-area_queensland_australia_worldtour-outdoorexperience_julien-diot.

C’est le genre de rando que l’on est content de faire qu’une seule fois. Piet peut vous le dire car pour lui c’était la deuxième! Pourtant j’en ai fait quelques unes dans le Pays Basque mais là, ce n’est pas pour les gamins !

Dimanche après-midi, nous avons pris le bus 150E en direction de Gordonvale. 50min plus tard, nous voilà face à Walsh’s Pyramid, la plus haute formation rocheuse au monde en forme de pyramide, haute de 922 m.
Dans le bus, quand nous parlons de notre projet de voir le coucher de Soleil au sommet de Walsh’s Pyramid, un homme nous prend pour des fous: « non mais vous aller rentrer dans le noir », « c’est dangereux », « il faut au moins 5 heures »,… blablabla. Nous on y va parce qu’on est jeune et fou!

walshs-pyramid-climbing_cairns-area-queensland-australia-worldtour-outdoorexperienceSauf que lorsqu’on y est, ce n’est plus la même: ça grimpe, et ça grimpe, et ça grimpe. La pente est si abrupte que chaque pas en avant nous élève de 20 à 50 cm. Certes, c’est joli mais il est dur de garder la tête haute pour admirer le décor. Une heure plus tard, un marquage au sol nous indique que nous avons fait la moitié. Vous voulez juste pleurer. SEULEMENT LA MOITIE!!!! De toute façon nous voulons voir ce coucher de soleil donc pas le choix, nous devons continuer.

Heureusement, ce marquage n’est pas des plus précis car nous atteignons le sommet 40 minutes plus tard. Kaleigh salue notre victoire par un « dans tes dents la montagne, prend toi ça! » C’est sur, elle est contente d’être arrivée au bout!

.

Paysage somptueux oblige, nous nous devons de faire une séance photo! Lorsque le Soleil décide en fin de se coucher, nous prenons vite quelques photos, finissons notre bière et amorçons la descente… en courant et en criant comme des singes! C’était vraiment drôle. Toutefois au bout de 20 minutes nos cuisses nous brûlent terriblement. Il faut marcher, et marcher vite pour ne pas rater le bus! J’équipe mes deux amis de lampes et ouvre la marche dans le noir. La descente fut plus courte que la montée, mais plus physique aussi. Mes jambes, tremblantes, commençaient à ne plus pouvoir me tenir.

walshs-pyramid_gordonvale_cairns-area_sunset_worldtour-outdoorexperience

Une fois en bas du chemin qui parcours Walsh’s Pyramid jusqu’à son sommet, il nous reste tout juste 20 minutes pour rejoindre l’arrêt de bus. C’est exactement le temps dont nous avons besoin, il ne faut donc pas traîner! Une deux une deux, le rythme et rapide, mais si nous le ratons nous devrons attendre 1 heure avant le prochain.

Encore une fois, perfect timing! nous arrivons à l’arrêt de bus… en même temps que lui. Il nous fallut 1h47 lors de l’ascencion de Walsh’s Pyramid et 1h17 à la descente. Direction the Pier bar & grill pour une Pizza avec Piet tandis que Kaleigh se prend un Coca chez McDo avant de rentrer travailler sur son ipad à l’hotel.

.

.picto_photo_brown

.

La chose la plus folle au sujet de Walsh’s Pyramid est une course qui prend place le second week-end d’Août chaque année: une boucle de 12 km de Gordonvale jusqu’au sommet et retour. La veille de notre trip lorsque j’ai  demandé à un chauffeur de bus quelle était la route jusqu’à Gordonvale, il nous avoua à Peit et moi qu’il l’avait fait en 1h47 pour finir 22ème sur 80 participants. Respect.

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *