Magnetic Island: MTB and Koalas

castle-hill_townsville_queensland_australia_worldtour-outdoor-experience

.

After Mission Beach we reached Townsville, the largest tropical city in Queensland. The place is lovely with its marina, its beautiful lookout from Castle Hill and also Magnetic Island you can reach by ferry. It was expensive ($32/person) but the island discovered by Captain Cook and his spinning compass crazy is a really nice paradise where lives the widest population of wild koala in all Australia.

The day before the trip, I called Sam, the owner of Outer Limits Adventure. He is a really nice person and he offered us a great deal: 7 excellent condition mountain bikes with 29 inches wheels (we call those mountain bikes “29er”) for $150. Usually to get a bike like that, you have to spend around $40 a day. It is the price I paid to Graham, owner of BikeStop Expresso, for my day trip in Smithfield Mountain Bike Park.

walaby_magnetic-island_worldtour-outdoorexperience

The island is hilly and you have a lot of trails to ride. We had a flat tyre after half an hour but after checked the pressure in every tyres we didn’t have any trouble. Florence Bay is my favourite spot with a really cool shelter on the sand near to the sea.

koala_magnetic-island_worldtour-outdoorexperience

.

We rode all the day long without see any koala but on the way back to the ferry, we were lucky. A 4WD behind me on a steep road started to overtake me but then stopped. The reason? There was a wild koala looking the sunset from the top of its eucalyptus. Everybody was tired after a 40 km ride with the head looking down the floor. This unexpected meeting made everybody happy and gave us enough energy to finish our big loop to the ferry.

.

.

WTOE: Grasshopper Guide_Magnetic Island

.

.

picto_photo_brown

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Magnetic Island: VTT et Koalas

castle-hill_townsville_queensland_australia_worldtour-outdoor-experience

.

Après Mission Beach, nous rejoignons Townsville, la plus grande ville tropical du Queensland. Le lieu est charmant avec sa marina, son superbe point de vue depuis Castle Hill et également Magnetic Island que vous pouvez relier par le ferry. Le ferry nous couta cher (32$/personne) mais l’île découverte par le Captain Cook et rendant son compas complètement fou est un véritable paradis où vive la plus large population de koalas de toute l’Australie.

La veille de notre sortie, j’appela Sam, le propriétaire de Outer Limits Adventure. C’est un type vraiment sympathique et il nous proposa une offre très intéressante: 7 VTT en excellent état avec des roues de 29 pouces (on appelle ce genre de VTT « 29er ») pour 150$. Normalement pour obtenir ce genre de VTT, vous devez dépenser autour de 40$ par jour. C’est le prix que j’ai payé à Graham, propriétaire de BikeStop Expresso, lors de mon trip au Mountain Bike Park de Smithfield.

walaby_magnetic-island_worldtour-outdoorexperience

L’île offre du dénivelé positif et vous avez beaucoup de chemins à emprunter. Nous avons eu un pneu à plat après seulement une demie heure mais après avoir vérifier la pression de tous les pneux, nous n’avons pas eu un seul problème. Florence Bay est mon endroit préféré avec son magnifique abri de branche à la sauce Robinson Crusoe sur le sable à quelques dizaines de mètres de l’océan.

koala_magnetic-island_worldtour-outdoorexperience

.

Nous avons roulé toute la journée sans voir un seul koala mais sur le chemin du retour, nous fûmes chanceux. Un 4×4 derrière moi dans une montée commença à me dépasser, puis s’arrêta. La raison? Il y avait un koala sauvage en train de regarder le coucher de Soleil depuis son eucalyptus. Tout le monde était fatigué après avoir parcouru 40 km avec la tête regardant le sol. Cette rencontre innatendue redonna le sourire à tout le monde et nous transmit assez d’énergie pour finir notre grande boucle jusqu’au ferry.

.

.

.

.

picto_photo_brown

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *