Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /homepages/19/d427361337/htdocs/www/wp-content/plugins/qtranslate-x/qtranslate_frontend.php on line 497
What to do in and arround Perth? - World Tour Outdoor Experience

What to do in and arround Perth?

Here we are, after 4 months in Perth, I decided to leave the city. But I can give you some advice to well use your time in this capital.

Around Perth

kingspark-footbridgeFirst of all, you have Kings Park. It’s the first thing I saw when I arrived. It’s a beautiful place to walk and to relax alone or with your friends. You will have a great point of view on the Swan River and the skyscrapers of the CBD. You’ll discover plenty species of tree and bushes and also there is a beautiful footbridge above the park which looks like a snake.

Of course you have also some amazing beaches with white sand and pure blue water. Scarborough (be careful, there is a strong flow) is my favourite but you have also Cottesloe, City Beach and South beach in Freemantle. I didn’t see waves during the summer but may be in winter it can be a good spot for surfing. But the most amazing beaches I’ve seen were the Rottnest Island’s beaches.

rottnest-island

little-penguinProtected by a reef, there are no seaweeds and you can come upon a fish between your legs. It’s a perfect place for snorkeling. I didn’t see the beaches in the north, only the south part because I wasn’t alone this day. You will see the famous Quokkas (a friendly marsupial) and peacocks. With Azimuth Travel Australia (the cheaper agent in all Perth), you’ll have 5 hours to discover all the island, bike and snorkeling equipment include. Moreover if your accommodation is in Perth, you can be pick up by a car which will drive you up to Hillarys to take the ferry. You can find more information on the website.

Far away in Rockingham you’ll live a real kayaking expedition on Sea and Penguin Islands. The water is really pure as well and the fauna is varied. You can see seabirds such as pelicans, little penguins and sea lions. Also it’s on this island I’ve seen the biggest lizard in my life and you must know one thing: you’ll be more afraid than them!

john-forrest-national-park

Between Midland and Mundaring, you can cross the John Forrest National Park to follow the Heritage Trail (an old railway). It’s my favourite outback adventure around Perth. It’s not really far from the CBD (35 km) and really exotic! But it’s still too close from the CBD to see a real outback night sky. Mundaring is the departure of the Munda Biddi trail, a trail which goes until Albany. Next year when I’ll go back in Perth, I want to do it!

I didn’t really like Mandurah and Armadale but if you can find an accommodation in Armadale with a job, I ‘m sure it will break your habits! (isn’t it Yannick!?)

Freemantle

freemantle-market

I don’t know very well Freemantle. I went other there only two times. But I recommend you the Freemantle market. I didn’t use to go in market in France but this one is really cool. Moreover fruits are cheaper than Coles or Woolworthes and really tasty. The harbour is really big as well. You will be able to see it when you will take the train.

Now I’ve talk about things you can do around Perth, I’ll speak about things in the city.

In Perth

Parks and Lakes

There are plenty of parks all around the CBD: Hyde Park, Lake Monger, Herdsman Lake, Lake Joondalup, Gnangara Lake, Jandalup Lake to quote the most famous. I didn’t see all of them (because you can’t go anywhere with the train) but as me, If you need to be surrounded by green colour, it’s possible.

Also in each big park you will find free barbecue. Australian people like meet together in a park to celebrate birthday or the Sunday lunch. Australians love their nature and they live more outside than inside their house. I advice you the Burswood Park public. It’s close to the Swan River and really peaceful and dispose of free barbecue as well.

perth-zoo_iguanaIn South Perth, I suggest you to discover the Zoo. The entry is a quite expensive for a backpacker ($ 22,50) but this zoo is really big. With Yannick, we had needed to 4 hours to see every animals. The summer isn’t the best season to do it because lots of animals stay hidden to protect themselves from hot temperatures.

If you want to relax with a wonderful sunset, I’m sure you’ll appreciate fishing by night in the Swan river or in the Indian ocean

If you’re rider, you will find a really good skatepark in Belmont, at the corner of Abernethy Road and Alexander Road. After 5 years without riding a skatepark, it’s really impressive. But you will have a lot of fun!

NightClub

Be careful! In Perth, the night starts from 06:30 pm!

Thanks to my job at The Deen Night Club, I saw all good thinks in Perth by day and night.

For sure, the Deen club is really great. It’s open 4 times a week and has 7 different areas.

Monday is for people who works in hospitality and there is a rock band which plays great sounds.
Thursday
it’s the backpackers party. As backpacker, you will know the Deen and its free barbecue from 08:00 pm to 08:30 pm, followed by the free drinks (Champain, Wine and Beer as well) from 09:00 to 10:00 pm. There is also  Salsa music zone 5 where you can dance with the most beautiful women I have ever seen (Zone 3 too). Birdie, one of the best DJ in Perth will be also here zone 2 with his awesome mix!
Friday
, it’s the Student party with promotion on drinks thanks to your student card.
Saturday
, everybody is welcome.

The Ambar is my favourite, but not all the time. It was chosen best electro club in 2011 and 2012 I think. The girl DJ mix pretty well!

The Geisha is a friendly lesbian club where you can dance on hard and dark electro sound till 05:00 am. After work (03:00 am), some bartenders and myself go other there.

The Ellington Jazz Club (on beaufort street, close to Coles and McDonald) is an amazing place to enjoy young jazz music and a cocktail with your boy-girlfriend.

jazz-club_perth_ellington

But may be you dont’t like the night club. No worries, Perth holds some bars really quiet!

Small Bars

perth-small-bar_mechanics-instituteThe Mechanics Institute is one of my favourite. I believe it has the most amazing view on the skycrappers by night. The Rooftop Movie, the rooftop of the Aviary and this of the Connexion night Club are not bad too. However is really good hidden and to find it, you will have to seek it a long time! To keep it secret, I won’t tell you where is it! Ahah

The Amphoras Bar is a little bit far from the CBD but with the Red Cat (free bus), you can go other there easily. You’ll be able to enjoy these really good tapas with a beer in a hot summer afternoon.

.

The Bird is an excellent bar. You can see 2 chairs made with skateboards fixed on the wall. At the back there is a little patio really relax in which you can lift your head to see the stars.

There are so many bars in Perth! I didn’t see all of them.

Restaurants

The El compa in Northbridge is the best Mexican Restaurant in Perth. Its design from floor to ceiling will drive you in Mexico directly!
The food is really delicious, not expensive and their beers are amazing (especially the Negra Modelo and the Bohemia). You have also a wide range of tequila. As I worked in this restaurant I can tell you something: all the food is hand-made and Gianni, one of the two chiefs loves his job and do it very well. You can’t be disappointed.

The Print Hall is one of the most beautiful restaurant in Perth. Before to be a restaurant, it was an old print house. In this restaurant, you’ll go back in the 20’s. However I don’t like the Bob’s bar (Print Hall’s roof top) even if you have a beautiful view.

On Beaufort Street (the main street of Mount Lawley), I recommend you the El Publico (Mexican Restaurant) to enjoy their really good tacos, beers and especially their tequilla!

And now I think I told you everything I did. I hope these advises will be  helpful if one day you come in the capital of Western Australia!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Que faire à et autour Perth?

Nous y voila, après 4 mois à Perth, j’ai décidé de quitter la ville. Voici quelques bons plans pour bien profiter de votre escale dans cette capitale!

Autour de Perth

kingspark-footbridgeTout d’abord, vous avez Kings Park. C’est la première chose que j’ai vu en arrivant. C’est un endroit magnifique pour se promener ou se détendre seul ou avec vos amis. Vous aurez un beau point de vue sur la Swan River et les buildings du CBD. Vous découvrirez plein d’espèces d’arbres et d’arbustes. Également il y a un joli pont qui passe au dessus du parc et dont l’architecture fait penser à un serpent.

Bien sur vous avez aussi d’incroyables plages de sable blanc et à l’eau turquoise. Scarborough (soyez prudent, il y a un fort courant) est ma préférée mais vous avez aussi Cottesloe, City Beach et South beach à Freemantle. Je n’ai pas vu de vagues durant l’été mais peut être qu’au cour de l’hiver ce peut être de bons endroits pour surfer. Les plus belles plages que j’ai vu restent néanmoins celles de Rottnest Island.

rottnest-island

little-penguinProtégée par un récif, il n’y a pas d’algues vertes et vous pouvez surprendre un poisson entre vos jambes. C’est un lieu idéal pour la randonnée aquatique. Je n’ai pas vu les plages du nord de l’île, seulement celles du Sud car je n’étais pas seul ce jour ci. Vous verrez les fameux Quokkas (un marsupial vraiment sympa) et des paons. Avec Azimuth Travel Australia (l’agent le moins cher de tout Perth), vous avez 5 heures pour découvrir l’intégralité de l’île, VTT et équipement de randonnée aquatique inclus. De plus si votre logement se trouve à Perth, vous serez pris devant chez vous par une navette qui vous conduira jusqu’à Hillarys pour prendre le ferry. Vous trouverez plus d’informations sur le site web de l’agence.

Plus loin à Rockingham vous vivrez une vraie expédition en Kayak sur Sea et Penguin Island. Comme d’habitude l »eau est vraiment pure et la faune diversifiée. Vous pourrez voir des oiseaux marins tel que les pélicans, la plus petite espèce de pingouins ainsi que des otaries. C’est sur cette île que j’ai vu les plus gros lézards de ma vie et autant vous avouer une chose: vous aurez plus peur qu’eux!

john-forrest-national-park

Entre Midland et Mundaring,vous pourrez traverser the John Forrest National Park pour suivre the Heritage Trail (une ancienne voie ferrée). C’est mon aventure dans l’outback qui m’a le plus plus autour du Perth. Ce n’est pas trop éloigné du CBD (35 km) et vraiment dépaysant! Mais c’est encore trop près des lumières de la ville pour voir un véritable ciel étoilé de l’outback. Mundaring est le départ du Munda Biddi trail, un chemin réservé aux VTT qui va jusqu’à Albany. L’année prochaine lorsque je reviendrai à Perth, je veux le faire!

Je n’ai pas vraiment aimé Mandurah et Armadale mais si vous trouvez un logement à Armadale avec un job, je suis sur que cela changera vos habitudes! (n’est ce pas Yannick!?).

Freemantle

freemantle-market

Je ne connais pas très bien Freemantle. J’y suis allé uniquement 2 fois. Mais je vous recommande le Marché de Freemantle. Je n’avais pas l’habitude d’aller au marché en France mais celui-ci est vraiment bien. De plus les fruits sont moins cher qu’à Coles ou Woolworthes et vraiment savoureux. Le port est vraiment grand aussi. Vous le verrez lorsque vous prendrez le train.

Maintenant que j’ai parlé des choses à faire autour de Perth, je vais parler des choses à faire dans la ville elle-même.

Dans Perth

Parcs et Lacs

Il y a plein de parcs et lacs autour du CBD: Hyde Park, Lake Monger, Herdsman Lake, Lake Joondalup, Gnangara Lake, Jandalup Lake pour citer les plus connus. Je ne les ai pas tous vu (car vous ne pouvez pas aller partout avec le train) mais comme moi, si vous avez besoin d’être entouré par le vert, c’est possible!

Aussi dans chaque grand parc vous trouverez des barbecues gratuits. Les Australiens aiment se retrouver tous ensembles dans un parc pour célébrer un anniversaire ou un repas le dimanche. Les Australiens aiment leur nature et vivent d’avantages à l’extérieur qu’à l’intérieur de leur maison. Je vous conseil le Burswood Park public. Il est près de la Swan River, vraiment apaisant et des barbecues libre services sont également à votre disposition.

perth-zoo_iguanaA Perth Sud, je vous suggère de découvrir le Zoo. L’entrée est un peu chère pour un backpacker ($ 22,50) mais ce zoo est vraiment grand. Avec Yannick , nous avons eu besoin de 5 heures pour tout voir. L’été n’est pas la meilleure saison pour le faire car beaucoup d’animaux restent cachés pour se protéger des hautes températures.

.

Si vous souhaitez vous détendre avec un magnifique coucher de Soleil, je suis sur que vous apprécierez pécher de nuit dans la Swan River ou l’Océan Indien.

Si vous êtes un rider, vous trouverez un très bon skatepark à Belmont, à l’angle de Abernethy Road et Alexander Road. Après 5 ans sans avoir ridé un skatepark, il est vraiment impressionnant. Mais vous y amuserez beaucoup et les riders locaux sont sympas et vraiment bons!

NightClub

Attention! A Perth vos soirées commenceront à partir de 18h30!

Grâce à mon emploi au Deen Night Club, j’ai vu toutes les bonnes choses à faire que ce soit le jour ou là nuit!

Tout d’abord, le Deen club est vraiment bien.  Il est ouvert 4 fois par semaines et possède 7 aires différentes.

Le lundi est une soirée spéciale pour les gens travaillant dans la restauration. Il y a aussi un groupe de rock plutôt sympa qui joue vos titres préférés.
Le jeudi c’est la soirée des backpackers. En tant que Backpacker, vous connaîtrez  le Deen et son barbecue gratuit de 20:00 à 20:30, suivi des boissons gratuites (Champagne, Vin et Bière) de 21:00 à 22:00. Il y a aussi de la Salsa zone 5, zone où vous pourrez danser avec les plus belles filles qu’il m’a été permit de voir (Zone 3 aussi).  Birdie, un des meilleurs DJ de Perth, sera là aussi zone 2 et vous fera danser sur ses meilleurs mix!
Vendredi, il s’agit de la soirée réservée aux étudiants, avec réduction sur les boissons sur présentation de la carte étudiante.
Samedi, tout le monde est le bienvenu!

The Ambar est mon club préféré, mais pas tout les soirs. Il fut élu meilleur club electro en 2011 et 2012 je crois. La DJ qui mix certains soirs est vraiment talentueuse!

The Geisha est un club lesbien où vous pourrez danser sur du hard et dark electro jusqu’à 05:00 du matin. Après le travail, certains bartenders et moi-même allons là-bas.

The Ellington Jazz Club (sur beaufort street, près du Coles et du McDonald) est le premier club de jazz que j’ai découvert. Il est vraiment bien, très luxueux et vous pourrez y apprécier les morceaux de jeunes groupes de musique talentueux et un cocktail avec vos amis ou petit(e) ami(e).

jazz-club_perth_ellington

Mais peut-être que vous n’aimez pas vraiment l’ambiance des nightclub. Ne vous en faites pas Perth recèle des petits bars vraiment tranquilles!

Small Bars

perth-small-bar_mechanics-instituteThe Mechanics Institute est l’un de mes préférés. Je crois qu’il possède la plus belle vue sur le CBD la nuit. Le rooftop movie, le toit de l’Aviary et du Connexion Night club ne sont pas mal non plus. Toutefois il est vraiment bien caché et pour le trouver, vous le chercherez un petit bout de temps! Pour le préserver, je ne vous dirai pas où il se trouve! ahah

The Amphoras Bar est un peu éloigné du CBD mais avec le Red Cat (bus gratuit), vous pourrez vous y rendre facilement. Vous y apprécierez de délicieux tapas avec une bière un lourd après-midi d’été.

The Bird est un excellent endroit où se rendre. Vous pourrez y voir 2 chaises réalisées avec des skateboards accrochées au mur. A l’arrière sa terrasse à ciel ouvert vous permettra de vous y détendre et de lever la tête pour admirer les étoiles.

Il y a vraiment un grand nombre de petits bars à Perth! Je ne les ai pas tous vu.

Restaurants

Le El compa dans Northbridge est le meilleur Restaurant Mexicain de Perth. Son design du sol au plafond vous emmènera directement à Mexico!
La nourriture est vraiment délicieuse, peu cher et leurs bières incroyables (surtout la Negra Modelo et la Bohemia). Vous aurez aussi un large choix de tequila. Comme j’ai travaillé dans ce restaurant je peux vous dire une chose: Tout est fait maison et Gianni, l’un des deux chefs cuisiniers aime vraiment son métier et le fait vraiment bien. Vous ne serez pas déçu.

Le Print Hall et l’un des plus beaux restaurant de Perth. Avant de devenir un restaurant, c’était une ancienne imprimerie. Dan ce restaurant, vous retournerez dans les années 20. Toutefois je n’aime pas trop le Bob’s Bar (sur le toit du Print Hall) Bien que la vue soit fantastique.

Sur Beaufort Street (la rue principale de Mount Lawley), Je vous recommande chaudement le  El Publico (Restaurant Mexicain) pour savourer leur délicieux tacos, bières et tequilla!

Voilà, je pense vous avoir dit tout ce que j’ai fait. J’espère que ces conseils vous seront utiles lorsqu’un jour vous viendrez découvrir la capitale de l’Australie Occidentale.

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *