Frenchmans Cap: Symbol of Southwest Tasmania

frenchmans-cap_getting-ready_worldtour-outdoorexperience10 days after I left Lilydale, I meet Eliane in Hobart after Easter holidays. Together we have planned to go to Frenchmans Cap, one of the hardest and most rewarding bushwalk in Tasmania located in the Franklin Gordon Wild Rivers National Park, Southwest of Tasmania.

The car park from where the track to Frenchmans Cap starts is 45minutes drive from Lake St Clair in the direction of the eastern side of the state.
However we left from Hobart with the bus company Tassielink. This one operates every Thursdays and Sundays and includes in its services a ticket to Frenchmans Cap for $55,70 one-way. That’s expensive, so we decided to come back from Frenchmans Cap to Hobart by hitchhiking with one of the bushwalkers met during our journey. We want to do the return walk to Frenchmans Cap in four days in order to be able to catch the bus to Hobart Sunday if any bushwalkers can take us.

Usually, it takes three to five days to achieve the walk to Frenchmans Cap and at this time of the year, four seasons in one day are highly expected. Also, this loop has the reputation to be very muddy and wet. We won’t keep our shoes dry very long.

Frenchmans-Cap-Yabby_worldtour-outdoorexperienceWith Eliane we don’t have our full equipment for this 45km long trek (return). However we are both lucky. When I arrived to Hobart three days before Frenchmans Cap, I stayed with Quinn (a warmshowers member). He landed to me a lot of his equipment; only a cooking pot and warm gloves and a tent are missing. I will get these ones thanks to Eliane’s relatives. Scott, Wendy’s son (our host before and after our walk to Frenchmans Cap), will land to us the last gears missing. Thanks to the generosity of the people we have met along our way (and who know us for less than 24h) we don’t need to rent any gear for Frenchmans Cap. That’s excellent! Now we only have to worry about shopping for these four days self-sufficient in the wilderness.

.

frenchmans-cap_no-dry-shoes_worldtour-outdoorexperienceThe first day is maybe the less enjoyable. The track leading to Vera Hut is slippery and muddy and swampy (Loddon Plains have a bad reputation). As expected, we got four seasons in one day and these ones were changing every ten minutes! It’s really common in autumn. This first day walk is also the longest with 16km between Frenchmans Cap car park and Lake Vera Hut. However the Rangers are making many nice boardwalks above the wetlands. Without their efforts, we could have mud up to the belt in Loddon plains, seriously. The footpath allows us to walk quite fast except in some muddy areas without man’s construction. We left Frenchmans Cap car park at 12:45 to arrive ten minutes before the sunset to Lake Vera Hut with the picture of the Orange Loddon River in our mind.

Frenchmans-Cap_loddon-river_worldtour-outdoorexperienceFrenchmans-Cap_bushwalking_worldtour-outdoorexperienceThe second day was my favourite. It took us three hours to reach Lake Tahune Hut from Lake Vera. It’s also this day we will reach the summit of Frencmans Cap with an exceptionally clear sky in the afternoon. The climb to Barron Pass is a little bit tough but the beauty surrounding you and the discreet rangers constructions will live down your pain. From the top of Barron Pass you did half way of your walk to Lake Tahune Hut. Through the natural gate formed by The White Needle and Nicoles Needle you’ll see it, Frenchmans Cap, dominating the place from its 1446m high constituted of white quartzite and its impressive 300 meters which are the stuff of dreams for many rock climbers and base-jumpers all around the world. The next part of the track goes on boulders along Sharlands Peak range. Then, the path goes on a plateau that provides an exceptional view to the northeast side of the National Park. However this one is really exposed to the gusts Frenchmans-Cap_pyjama_worldtour-outdoorexperienceof wind.

From Lake Tahune Hut the summit of Frenchmans Cap is only 1.5km away. We leave the hut right after lunch with a clear sky. Along our way up we’ll discover the beauty of Lake Tahune, a pool encircled by orange colour in the middle of green mountains. The second half of the walk is more technical with several “rock climbing” sections before to walk in snow (for the second time in Australia!). 1h30 after we left Lake Tahune hut we reach the summit of Frenchmans Cap and enjoy the 360° view. There are no human signs for kilometres and the closest town is Strahan (1000 inhabitants) 38km as the crow flies, hidden by a mountain range. The low clouds moving quickly limit the visibility beyond. We’ll start our way back down to Lake Tahune Hut hut after 30 minutes of admiration.

.

Frenchmans-Cap_summit-walk_cairn_worldtour-outdoorexperience

frenchmans-cap_palm-tree-covered-snow_worldtour-outdoorexperienceIt rained all night long. However our third day walk is quite short to Lake Vera Hut. We will leave at 10AM spending half morning playing YATZY. It’s snowing, hailing, raining. The most difficult part remaining the plateau we crossed the day before receiving hails in our face and loosing our balance under the gusts of wind. The way down from Barron Pass comes with a lot of water maintaining our feet completely wet. This track is now a stream of water rising up the flow of the river. It’s funny to see the palm trees and menferns covered with snow but it’s hard to look around us. This section of track is really slippery and we can only look at our feet and stay focus on each step forward.
We will spend our afternoon playing RAMY and RATZY inside Lake Vera Hut in a dry and warm area while we get to know every present bushwalkers. Later in the afternoon we will meet Ben and his friends who we’ll take us from Frenchmans Cap car park to Hobart the next day.

I’m glad to get warm again and especially dry!

.

.

picto_photo_brown

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Frenchmans Cap: le sommet emblématique du Sud Ouest de la Tasmanie

frenchmans-cap_getting-ready_worldtour-outdoorexperience10 jours après avoir quitté Lilydale, je rejoins Eliane à Hobart après les fêtes de Pâques. Ensemble, nous avons prévu de nous rendre au Frenchmans Cap, un des sommets qui se mérite le plus et qui se situe dans le « Franklin Gordon Wild Rivers National Park » au Sud Ouest de la Tasmanie.
Le parking à partir duquel débute le sentier pour rejoindre Frenchmans Cap se trouve à 45minutes à l’Est du Lac St Clair. Cependant nous sommes partis d’Hobart avec la compagnie de bus Tassielink. Celle-ci inclue dans ses services un ticket vers Frenchmans Cap pour 55,70$ l’aller ce qui n’est pas donné. Nous déciderons donc à cet instant de revenir de Frenchmans Cap à Hobart en auto-stop avec des randonneurs rencontrés le long du parcours. Nous voulons faire l’aller retour au Frenchmans Cap en quatre jours. Ainsi si nous ne pouvons pas être pris en auto-stop, nous pouvons toujours prendre le bus.

Généralement il faut entre trois et cinq jours pour terminer le parcours aller-retour au Frenchmans Cap et à cette période de l’année, quatre saisons en un jour sont fortement probables. Aussi, ce tracé à la réputation d’être très boueux et humide. Nous ne garderons pas nos pieds sec très longtemps.

Frenchmans-Cap-Yabby_worldtour-outdoorexperienceAvec Eliane nous n’avons pas l’intégralité de l’équipement nécessaire pour cette randonnée de 45km (retour). Néanmoins la chance nous sourie. De mon côté Quinn (un membre de Warmshowers chez qui j’ai passé une nuit) me fournira l’équipement dont j’ai besoin. Cependant il nous manque encore des gamelles, des gants et une tente. J’obtiendrai tout cela grâce aux membres éloignés de la famille d’Eliane avec qui nous passerons deux jours. Scott, le fils de Wendy (notre hôte avant et après notre randonnée au Frenchmans Cap), nous fournira l’intégralité de l’équipement manquant. Grâce à la générosité des personnes rencontrées sur notre chemin (et qui nous connaissent depuis moins de 24h) nous n’aurons pas à louer notre équipement pour Frenchmans Cap ce qui est une très bonne chose! Il ne nous reste plus qu’à faire quelques courses pour ces quatre jours au milieu de la nature.

frenchmans-cap_no-dry-shoes_worldtour-outdoorexperienceLa première journée pour rejoindre la hutte du Lac Vera est peut-être la moins agréable avec un sol glissant, boueux et marécageux (les Loddon Plains ont une mauvaise réputation). Comme attendu, nous avons eu quatre saisons en un jour avec un changement toutes les dix minutes! C’est vraiment commun en automne. Cette première marche est également la plus longue avec 16km séparant le parking de Frenchmans Cap de la hutte du lac Vera. Toutefois les rangers construisent un grand nombre de passages en bois au-dessus de ces terrains difficiles pour faciliter la progression. Sans leurs efforts, nous aurions eu de la boue jusqu’à la taille, au sens propre. Partis à 12h45, nous arriverons à la hutte du lac Vera dix minutes avant le crépuscule avec l’image de la Loddon River gravée dans notre esprit.

Frenchmans-Cap_loddon-river_worldtour-outdoorexperience

Frenchmans-Cap_bushwalking_worldtour-outdoorexperienceLa seconde journée fut ma préférée. Trois heures séparent la hutte du lac Vera de la Hutte du Lac Tahune. C’est également au cours de cette journée que nous rejoindrons le sommet de Frenchmans Cap par un temps exceptionnellement clair. Les randonneurs qui s’y sont rendus la veille ou qui s’y rendront le lendemain ne bénéficieront pas d’une telle chance. La montée jusqu’au col de Barron Pass s’avère assez sportive mais la beauté du chemin et les aménagements discrets élaborés par les rangers vous feront oublier votre peine. Une fois au col de Barron Pass, vous avez effectué la moitié du parcours. A travers le portail formé par la « white Needle » et la « Nicoles Needle »vous le voyez enfin, Frenchmans Cap, dominant les environs du haut de ses 1446m de quartz blanc et ses impressionnantes falaises de 300m laissant rêveurs les grimpeurs traditionnels et base-jumpers du monde entier. La suite du parcours se passe au milieu des rochers en longeant Sharlands Peak. Le plateau reliant au col suivant offre une vue exceptionnelle vers le nord-est mais est particulièrement exposé aux rafales.

Frenchmans-Cap_pyjama_worldtour-outdoorexperienceA partir de la hutte du Lac Tahune, seuls 1.5km nous sépare de Frenchmans Cap. Le temps est dégagé et c’est en début d’après-midi que nous rejoindrons le sommet. En grimpant le long du chemin nous découvrons la beauté du lac Tahune, un trou d’eau cerclé d’orange au milieu des montagnes vertes. La deuxième moitié du parcours est un peu plus technique et s’apparente à de l’escalade avant de marcher dans la neige (pour la deuxième fois en Australie!). 1h30 après avoir quitté la hutte du Lac Tahune nous sommes enfin au sommet de Frenchmans Cap appréciant la vue tout autour de nous. Aucune présence humaine ne se trouve à des kilomètres à la ronde; la ville la plus proche n’est autre que Strahan (1000 habitants) située à 38km à vol d’oiseau, cachée par une chaine de montagne. Au-delà, la visibilité est limitée par les nuages qui défilent rapidement. Nous descendrons du sommet après 30minutes d’admiration pour rejoindre la hutte du lac Tahune.

.

Frenchmans-Cap_summit-walk_cairn_worldtour-outdoorexperience

frenchmans-cap_palm-tree-covered-snow_worldtour-outdoorexperienceIl plut toute la nuit. Toutefois notre troisième journée sera assez courte avec pour seul objectif de rejoindre la hutte du lac Vera. Nous ne partons qu’à 10h du matin, passant le début de la matinée à jouer au YATZY. Il neige, il grêle, il pleut. Le passage le plus difficile reste toutefois le plateau que nous avions traversé la veille recevant de la grêle au visage, les bourrasques de vent nous faisant perdre l’équilibre. Nous seront accompagné du ruissèlement des eaux de pluies tout le long de la descente du col de Barron Pass. Il est marrant de voir des palmiers couverts de neige cependant il est difficile d’apprécier autant que la veille. Le parcours et glissant et ils nous faut nous concentrer sur chaque pas que nous faisons.
Nous passerons l’après-midi à jouer au RAMY et RATZY tout en faisant connaissance des personnes à l’intérieur de la hutte du Lac Vera au chaud et au sec. Plus tard dans l’après-midi nous ferons la connaissance de Ben et ses amis qui nous prendrons le lendemain du parking de Frenchmans Cap jusqu’à Hobart.

Nous allons enfin pouvoir nous mettre au chaud, mais surtout au sec !

.

.

picto_photo_brown

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *