Djiru NP: Meeting with a Cassowary

mission-beach_chill-out_grasshopper-travel

Sunday afternoon we reached Mission Beach after our testimonials about Big 4 Atherton Woodlands Cabine and Van Park. Mission Beach is nice but i’m already bored because I’m not in the mountains anymore.

After a huge  fire pit on the beach under an amazing starry sky , I decide to go back to the villa to  sleep well. Tomorrow I want to go to Dunk Island by kayak!

Unfortunately, it won’t happen. Indeed the crocodile and sting ray season is starting and it’s impossible to use a kayak more than 300 m offshore. Mainwhile I had seen on the map an other possibility: Walking in the Djiru National Park and chill out to a creek. And it’s exactly what I did.

I walked 4 hours to do 27 km. Bush trails were really nice but more importantly, I crossed two Cassowaries and one of them was 1.5 meters beside me! By safety, I walked at the same rythm a little bit further to let it get out of the bushes and wait for the picture. I was really stunned to see one because only 1000 left in the rainforrest (it’s an endangered specy and it’s role is really important for a specy of tree because to germinate its seed, the cassowary has to eat and digest it.). It’s a really big bird, bigger than an emu and very aggressive when with its chicks.

Cassowary_julien-diot_queensland_rainforrest_worldtour-outdoor-experience

Happy about this meeting, I finish my loop aby coming back to our Villa. My feet hurt… it’s time to have a shower and to stretch my whole body!

 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Parc National de Djiru: Ma première rencontre avec un Cassowary!


mission-beach_chill-out_grasshopper-travel

Dimanche après-midi, nous arrivons à Mission Beach après nos testimonaux au sujet de Big 4 Atherton Woodlands Cabine and Van Park. Mission Beach est jolie mais je suis déjà ennuyé d’être loin des montagnes.

Après un énorme feu sur la plage sous un incroyable ciel étoilé, je décide de rentrer à la villa pour très bien dormir. Demain, je veux aller sur Dunk Island en kayak!

Malheureusement, ça n’arrivera pas. En effet la saison des crocodiles et des raies est en train de commencer et il est impossible d’utiliser un kayak au-delà de 300 m loin des côtes. Cependant j’avais vu sur la carte une autre possibilité: marcher dans les chemins du Parc National de Djiru et me détendre à une crique. Et c’est exactement ce que j’ai fait.

J’ai marché 4 heures pour un total de 27km. Les chemins étaient vraiment sympathiques mais plus important encore, j’ai croisé deux Cassowaries et l’un d’eux était juste 1,50 m à côté de moi! Par sécurité, j’ai marché un peu plus loin en attendant qu’il sorte pour prendre une photo. Je fus vraiment étonné d’en voir un car il n’en reste seulement 1000 dans la forêt tropicale (il s’agit d’une espèce menacé dont le rôle est très important pour un type d’arbre en particulier. Pour que sa graine germe, le cassowary doit la manger et la digérer). C’est vraiment un oiseau gigantesque, plus gros qu’une autruche et très agressif quand accompagné de ses petits.

Cassowary_julien-diot_queensland_rainforrest_worldtour-outdoor-experience

Heureux de cette rencontre, je finis mon tour en rentrant à notre villa. Mes pieds me font mal…il est temps pour moi d’aller à la douche et de m’étirer complètement!

.

Laissez un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces balises et attributs HTML : <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>